Where to start in the code?

nightblade

Where to start in the code?

Post by nightblade » Thu Jan 08, 2015 10:16 pm

Background: I've played FFXI since it was released on PC and taken a few breaks because of work. Saw this project was available after seeing a video related to resurrecting dead game servers [and I know FFXI server are still active.] through reversing. As I like FFXI a lot and would like to play on a local server/public server years down the road when SE servers are nonexistent; this project piqued my interests. I've got quite a few years experience programming so I feel I can contribute some while I work on my server.

I'm still working on getting down the structure of the code [since I downloaded the code and setup a server a few days ago.] from reading the src directory. I can wait for patches to quests, mission, and other this aside for now from other developers since I think it be more fun for me to work on the underlying server code.

My problem lies in that the newest git repository still doesn't have a working monster movement system. My mobs spawn and sit, maybe turn around, or pretend to take a step and stop. With the spawn point placement this makes it easy to isolate monsters for solo play, but lacks a bit of the thrill of making sure you're distanced from sight links. So I'd like to patch the monster movement on my server for my first project; if there isn't already a working patch available.

I've searched Google and found a few discussions related to the problem [a bit dated] relating to lack of navmesh data and code. Is the navmesh still a problem for areas or has it already been committed? I found the code for CPathFind::RoamAround() in ~/src/map/ai/helpers/pathfind.cpp; under the guidance from the development team I ask, Is this the most appropriate place to place any modification to the monster movement [roaming] behavior, or are there additional places to take note?