Server install issue

comatose
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:12 am

Server install issue

Post by comatose » Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:57 pm

So a while ago I had a server set up on one of my computers and it worked fine and great. I don't have the computer anymore but I wanted to setup the server again on a different system which I'm pretty sure is better in almost every way than the other system. I went through the installation instructions and it says to use Visual Studio 2013 but apparently 2013 can't be used on an XP machine. My old server machine used XP and I know I didn't have 2013 installed on it. It might have been 2012 but I'm not sure. It was at least 2010.

My question is how can I set the server up on an XP machine without access to Visual Studio 2013?

User avatar
atom0s
Developer
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:52 am

Re: Server install issue

Post by atom0s » Thu Mar 06, 2014 11:33 pm

We bumped the requirements of the project to Visual Studio 2013 recently before we moved to Github.
The change was to help keep the project using the latest software available to develop with. It also helped fix some bugs that were caused by the old runtime from VS2010/2012.

You can still compile DSP with Visual Studio 2010 / 2012 you just need to recreate the solution files or alter them to load in an older version.

However, keep in mind if you do so, we will not give you any support as our project is set to use 2013.

If your system is newer, I would recommend upgrading from Windows XP as Microsoft is no longer supporting it soon.

User avatar
kjLotus
Special Guest
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: Server install issue

Post by kjLotus » Fri Mar 07, 2014 12:00 am

atom0s wrote:If your system is newer, I would recommend upgrading from Windows XP as Microsoft is no longer supporting it soon.
aren't they already not supporting it?

comatose
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Server install issue

Post by comatose » Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:29 am

Unfortunately my machine isn't new enough to use any Windows higher than XP so upgrading will have to wait. Is there an instruction guide somewhere for recreating the solution files? My knowledge of how to work VS is extremely limited.

Thanks for the help.

altalus
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:31 pm
Location: Montreal Qc, CAN

Re: Server install issue

Post by altalus » Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:01 pm

If you are daring enough, you can compile it on a 32 bit Linux system and it works perfectly... in Linux :P

User avatar
whasf
Site Admin
Posts: 1312
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: Server install issue

Post by whasf » Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:15 pm

In your darkstar source code, navigate to win32/dsgame-server folder
Open DSGame-server.vcxproj in Notepad or Notepad++

Replace

Code: Select all

<Project DefaultTargets="Build" ToolsVersion="12.0" xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/developer/msbuild/2003">
with

Code: Select all

<Project DefaultTargets="Build" ToolsVersion="4.0" xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/developer/msbuild/2003">
Replace all instances of

Code: Select all

<PlatformToolset>v120</PlatformToolset>
with

Code: Select all

<PlatformToolset>Windows7.1SDK</PlatformToolset>
Do that for the other .vcxproj files (maybe test the game-server one first to make sure it works, lol)

You should then be able to open the .sln file with VS2010
-- Whasf

User avatar
atom0s
Developer
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:52 am

Re: Server install issue

Post by atom0s » Fri Mar 07, 2014 6:11 pm

kjLotus wrote:
atom0s wrote:If your system is newer, I would recommend upgrading from Windows XP as Microsoft is no longer supporting it soon.
aren't they already not supporting it?
Not yet:
http://amirunningxp.com/

They end support on April 8th.

User avatar
whasf
Site Admin
Posts: 1312
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: Server install issue

Post by whasf » Fri Mar 07, 2014 7:33 pm

-- Whasf

comatose
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Server install issue

Post by comatose » Sat Mar 08, 2014 3:08 pm

Well, I was wrong. My main computer was capable of running windows 7 so now i've got that installed and everything's setup for the servers and it looks like it's working but i can't connect to any servers after setting up FFXI. I tried connecting to the ERA server and it accepts my login info and then says it's closing and shuts it down. It does the same when I try to connect to my own server. I used the --hairpin command, it says it was accepted and then shut down.

Any help? I'm pretty sure I setup FFXI the right way, I've done it enough since discovering the private servers. :P

User avatar
atom0s
Developer
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:52 am

Re: Server install issue

Post by atom0s » Sun Mar 09, 2014 2:33 am

If the launcher just closes without ever launching FFXI after you give it proper login information, then it tends to mean that you did not install FFXI correctly or you are not using the proper language setting for the launcher.

Post Reply