noob questions on server setup

Lothiriel

noob questions on server setup

Post by Lothiriel » Wed Jan 31, 2018 5:42 pm

I've been following the darkstar guide for setting up a private server. My goal is to set up server + client on the same PC. I just want to play by myself - maybe with other people on the same network in the future. I am new to SQL so questions are probably stupid :P

https://wiki.dspt.info/index.php/Buildi ... he_Servers

Two questions:
(1) Under the "Setting up the Database" section I'm a little unclear on the instructions. I set up the bat script as described, and the way I read it I can skip the Navicat stuff. I'm not sure where/when to put the "preserve character data" script - in the same DSP_Import.bat file at the end?? And if I skipped the Navicat stuff, do I skip the "Configure the ZoneIP" part as well?

(2) I went ahead and skipped those two pieces and built the servers, which worked (they compiled), then I configured them as described and ran them. How do I know they are actually up and running? The connect & game server.exes generated some pop-ups when I ran them that went away but there was no indication it was successful.. if I open the MySQL to monitor it, when the connect/game are started it shows 4 connections pop up. Running the search exe, the popup stays up and says something about "unknown database" and "can't connect".

I have not actually tried to set up the client side yet. I wanted to make sure I was on the right track before spending the many hours downloading/updating the client software.

Thanks

whasf
Site Admin

Re: noob questions on server setup

Post by whasf » Wed Jan 31, 2018 8:49 pm

Lothiriel wrote:I've been following the darkstar guide for setting up a private server. My goal is to set up server + client on the same PC. I just want to play by myself - maybe with other people on the same network in the future. I am new to SQL so questions are probably stupid :P