Failed to connect to server (setup)

moksanity

Failed to connect to server (setup)

Post by moksanity » Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:33 pm

So, this is my first time using a lot of these programs, so I have no doubt I messed up somewhere along the line, but I'm having trouble figuring out exactly where. I'm getting an error when I run Windower to try and launch, getting the error "Failed to connect to server!" from xiloader. I've attached a screenshot of the error and a screenshot of my xiloader settings. Any help pointing me in the right direction would be appreciated. If you need any more info or screenshots let me know and I'll grab em. Thanks!

whasf
Site Admin

Re: Failed to connect to server (setup)

Post by whasf » Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:00 pm

i'm guessing a firewall is blocking, or the lobby (connect) server isn't running?
-- Whasf

moksanity

Post by moksanity » Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:18 pm

How can I tell if the server is running? I've run Connect/Game/Search as admin. They flash on screen for a moment and then go away. I sort of get the impression that means they aren't running, but I also don't know if that just means they're running in the background. Do I need to have another program open when I run them, or do they run independently?

Sorry, I'm brand new at this and I'm not sure what I'm looking for.

whasf
Site Admin

Post by whasf » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:41 pm

look at the log files they create in the logs folder, they shouldn't go away when you start them. That means something is wrong
-- Whasf

moksanity

Post by moksanity » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:46 pm

Okay, they're all returning the same error of "Unknown database 'dspdb'".

Sorry I'm a complete potato at this stuff, I really appreciate you taking time to help me out.

Post by Avatarati » Thu Apr 12, 2018 12:33 am

Make sure MySQL is running.

If it's not, that's most likely your problem. Open Start -> MySQL Notifier. Then right click on the icon in the system tray, and select 'Start the MySQL Server'.