Page 1 of 1

Level 99 config issues

Posted: Tue May 19, 2015 11:28 am
by fallen45078
Running latest version of server, compiled on 5/16/15. I see these two lines in settings.lua...
INITIAL_LEVEL_CAP = 99; --The initial level cap for new players. There seems to be a hardcap of 255.
MAX_LEVEL = 99; -- Level max of the server, works by disabling Maat quests.

What else is required to enable a level cap of 99? Under these settings ^, players are still capped at 75. Server has been restarted after modifications to the
level caps. What am I missing?

Re: Level 99 config issues

Posted: Tue May 19, 2015 9:02 pm
by Delaide
It took me a while to figure this out. If you created a character while it was still set at 75, it will still have a cap of 75.
Look at your char_jobs table, and look for genkai.
This shows your cap. Change that value from 75 to 99, and your character will be able to start leveling again.

Here, I have made a script for you. Please note, this script will only change those who have 75 cap unlocked to a 99 cap. So, for example, if you have a character at level 45, you will see genkai value as 50. This will not increase. This will only unlock those who have unlocked 75.
75to99increase.sql
(47 Bytes) Downloaded 334 times
You can apply it the same way you would other updates in my guide: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=2591

Please note though, I also recommend changing your maat lua:
https://github.com/DarkstarProject/dark ... at.lua#L95
Change that line from 75 to 99, or whatever cap you want. Then, when you do the final Maat quest, it will automatically set the cap to 99, and you will not need to re-apply the sql update.

Re: Level 99 config issues

Posted: Tue May 19, 2015 9:02 pm
by TeoTwawki
Those settings won't effect players lv cap value in the database, will only effect new players db entry. You'll need to edit the genkai column in the char_jobs table for existing players.

Re: Level 99 config issues

Posted: Tue May 19, 2015 9:13 pm
by TeoTwawki
Delaide you ninja, getting all that in at the same time I click submit!

Re: Level 99 config issues

Posted: Tue May 19, 2015 9:15 pm
by Delaide
Well, my personal server toon is a capped nin xD

Re: Level 99 config issues

Posted: Wed May 20, 2015 7:44 am
by fallen45078
Delaide, you're awesome. Thanks for the script too!

Re: Level 99 config issues

Posted: Wed May 20, 2015 8:59 pm
by Delaide
Just remember, if you want to uncap the still capped characters using this script (For example, where genkai is set to 50, 55, 60, 65, 70 because they have not unlocked the level cap), you can just remove this part:

Code: Select all

 WHERE genkai=75
So what you would see is:

Code: Select all

UPDATE char_jobs SET genkai=99;
This will just unlock 99 for all characters in the database. You can edit the .sql files using notepad or notepad++.

How it works is it finds the table char_jobs and UPDATEs it. It looks for the column you specify, in this case genkai. It then modifies those values to match what you SET it to =99. So, you could replace this with any arbitrary, non-breaking number (255 or less). Poof, you are unlocked. The WHERE statement just says "Find the rows WHERE genkai=75 and replace them with the new number, 99". It is pretty easy, aside from getting the syntax correct. Anyways, that is why I also create the scripts, so people can just plug and play if they do not want to bother trying to figure it out.

Sorry, just trying to give information on how these are created in case anyone wants to DIY, but are not familiar with how to make these.

Re: Level 99 config issues

Posted: Thu May 21, 2015 12:21 am
by Desufire
Could this essentially be used to increase the cap above 99? We've all seen the "hardcap" of 255 and I've always been curious if it was possible to get up that high and have stats keep up accordingly.

Re: Level 99 config issues

Posted: Thu May 21, 2015 4:46 am
by Delaide
In theory, yes. But, what happens with the EXP tables? Are these hardcoded, or mathed in? Same with the stats growth. I think you would need to check to see how it figures out level to level stats and exp growth to determine what happens beyond a certain point.

Re: Level 99 config issues

Posted: Thu May 21, 2015 4:01 pm
by TeoTwawki
If you go above 99 there are multiple debug breaks you'd have to edit out. Also you'd need to edit some things elsewhere because said debug breaks exist for a reason. But once you do a lot of editing, it does actually work and oddly the client side will even display it properly in the menu's (some stuff actually moves over, indicating that at one point 100+ was a consideration to the UI programmer).