Ashita Launch Error - POLCore_GetInitFunc

Vasante
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:03 am

Ashita Launch Error - POLCore_GetInitFunc

Post by Vasante » Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:31 am

Hey all,

Figured I'd post this here as well as the Ashita forums just for safe measure in case anyone else has the same problem as myself. I've set up Ashita as per the wiki guide for the DSPT Test Server, fully updated all files and I'm ready to go with it, only problem is when I launch the config for the server I'm getting an ERROR: POLCore_GetInitFunc issue popping up in the ffxi-boot mod. This is happening before POL/XI even manages to launch, the window simply closes after the error.

Any ideas on how to resolve/work around the issue?

bluekirby0
Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:11 am

Re: Ashita Launch Error - POLCore_GetInitFunc

Post by bluekirby0 » Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:45 am

Well, you aren't hitting an error in a part of the code that has been modified, but you could try replacing pol.exe in the ffxi-boot_mod folder with a copy of the old ffxi-boot and set up the ini file for it.

If you could tell me what client version and region you are using, I can look for the problem in ffxi-boot. If you can't get into the game at all, you can check your client version by opening the normal playonline viewer, going to file repair, and checking the version next to Final Fantasy XI in the drop-down list. For region I just need to know if it is US/EU/JP. Looking at the code, it looks like that function is looking for a specific signature in the client, so perhaps your version has a different signature for some reason.

Vasante
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:03 am

Re: Ashita Launch Error - POLCore_GetInitFunc

Post by Vasante » Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:05 am

Thanks for the quick reply, for the record my XI version is: 30121205_4 - Region: EU

I'll give it a shot with the old ffxi-boot as mentioned and let you know.

bluekirby0
Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:11 am

Re: Ashita Launch Error - POLCore_GetInitFunc

Post by bluekirby0 » Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:32 am

Oops...looks like I forgot to add a switch or version detection when I modified the client...will fix that tomorrow when I've had some rest. The old version should work since you have the setting in the ini file for your region.

Vasante
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:03 am

Re: Ashita Launch Error - POLCore_GetInitFunc

Post by Vasante » Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:47 am

Following up on the above I've now tried it with the old ffxi-boot replacing the modified version. The ini file is set up as normal but when launching I now get a "Build_100 has stopped working" error message followed by the game crashing. If it helps at all I've copied the error details below. Any ideas at all?

FIXED (Potentially): Seems to be working now, this may have been my fault - I had previously commented all /load commands in the Darkstar.txt, after getting rid of the comments it seems to be ok, will report if anything changes

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: ffxi-boot.exe
Application Version: 1.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 4f27687f
Fault Module Name: FFXiMain.dll
Fault Module Version: 3.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 50bdeb19
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00170ef1
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
Locale ID: 2057
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Read our privacy statement online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid= ... cid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

User avatar
atom0s
Developer
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:52 am

Re: Ashita Launch Error - POLCore_GetInitFunc

Post by atom0s » Sun Jan 27, 2013 11:49 am

I found the cause to this issue.

Specifically for bluekirby to fix it:

Code: Select all

HMODULE POLCore_GetModule(){
In this func is a typo for the EU DLL. Should be:

Code: Select all

module = GetModuleHandleA("polcoreEU.dll");
Given that this typo exists there are other functions that use the similar name that need to be fixed too.

User avatar
atom0s
Developer
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:52 am

Re: Ashita Launch Error - POLCore_GetInitFunc

Post by atom0s » Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:02 pm

Also another issue, inside of:

Code: Select all

	LONG WINAPI hook_RegCreateKeyExA(HKEY key, LPCSTR subkey, DWORD reserved, LPCSTR classname, DWORD opt, REGSAM sam, SECURITY_ATTRIBUTES* sa, HKEY* pkey, DWORD* dispos){
The paths for the registry are wrong for US and EU:

Code: Select all

			if(_stricmp(subkey, "SOFTWARE\\PlayOnline\\SQUARE\\FinalFantasyXI") == 0 ||
			   _stricmp(subkey, "SOFTWARE\\PlayOnlineUS\\SQUARE\\FinalFantasyXI") == 0 ||
			   _stricmp(subkey, "SOFTWARE\\PlayOnlineEU\\SQUARE\\FinalFantasyXI") == 0){
				g_reg_hook_key = *pkey;
			}
For US it's:
SOFTWARE\\PlayOnlineUS\\SquareEnix\\FinalFantasyXI

For EU it's:
SOFTWARE\\PlayOnlineEU\\SquareEnix\\FinalFantasyXI

bluekirby0
Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:11 am

Re: Ashita Launch Error - POLCore_GetInitFunc

Post by bluekirby0 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 5:59 pm

Made a version that has a new --lang option to specify us eu or jp
It didn't work for the guy helping me test it, but it was working for me with both US and EU modes with both version installed. If you want to give it a spin:
http://kile.dyndns.info:8765/bak/ffxi-b ... 2c_RC2.zip

It isn't a final version until I can get it working on other people's systems. It may not (or probably won't) work for you if you are using an EU version, but it may be worth a shot.

altalus
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:31 pm
Location: Montreal Qc, CAN

Re: Ashita Launch Error - POLCore_GetInitFunc

Post by altalus » Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:58 am

File doesn't exist anymore and I need the fix since I have a US install and ffxi-boot will not launch FFXI after the login is done :)

Help ? :)

bluekirby0
Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:11 am

Re: Ashita Launch Error - POLCore_GetInitFunc

Post by bluekirby0 » Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:10 am

Just use the previous version if you are on a US version:
http://kile.dyndns.info:8765/bak/ffxi-boot_mod_2b.zip

2c RC2 didn't really accomplish anything and I am working on a rewrite for version 3

Post Reply