Page 1 of 2
Custom NPCs, Help needed
Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:50 am
by Airrwin
Hi, i've been working on a server for 2months on and off, and i want to know if anyone here knows how to have a custom NPC located at such and such Position in-game, i'm generally trying to get a NPC at such and such position, with the ability to set a homepoint, or allow someone to mount onto a chocobo. or allow the moghouse moogle, to be put in a new position.
i've tried making a homepoint spawn at such and such XYZ, and no luck, i've tried copying a homepoint location file and change some things in it, and no success, even edditing a already homepoint's XYZ
my main goal is to, be able to make a NPC, make it either able to set a homepoint, mount someone to a chocobo, or act as a moogle. or if anyone can help me figure out how to move a moogle to any XYZ / zone ID. i'd be much greatful
Re: custom commands Help needed
Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:22 am
by whasf
You can put a "NPC" anywhere you want, just add it to the NPC_LIST database table. But the name will only show "NPC" in the game unless you create a new .DAT and distribute it to your players. Then you can create a script for it as usual.
Re: custom commands Help needed
Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 12:17 pm
by Airrwin
whasf wrote:You can put a "NPC" anywhere you want, just add it to the NPC_LIST database table. But the name will only show "NPC" in the game unless you create a new .DAT and distribute it to your players. Then you can create a script for it as usual.
so i would only have to get the npcid and then add it into the npc_list database table? of course, with the XYZ
Re: Custom NPCs, Help needed
Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:54 pm
by whasf
You'd add a NPCID, just make sure it won't ever clash with what's in there now or in the future, like give it a super high value
Re: Custom NPCs, Help needed
Posted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 1:53 am
by Delaide
You can also just copy another dat if you want, or use a custom dat. I use a couple different websites for my custom dats, and they have mobs and npc customizations.
Re: Custom NPCs, Help needed
Posted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:08 am
by Airrwin
Delaide wrote:You can also just copy another dat if you want, or use a custom dat. I use a couple different websites for my custom dats, and they have mobs and npc customizations.
what do you mean exactly? I'm very new to trying to create/copy an npc to a different location, in the navicat i tried to edit the npc_list table, an add a moogle to said XYZ, but i have no idea where to put the zone number, and at the very end there is a thing called (Look) and on other moogle npcs it has "R" in the section, but it won't let me edit it. so i'm trying to understand what you mean by copying dat file for that?
Re: Custom NPCs, Help needed
Posted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:41 pm
by whasf
He's talking about for the client
Re: Custom NPCs, Help needed
Posted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 6:07 pm
by Airrwin
whasf wrote:He's talking about for the client
Oh i see
Re: Custom NPCs, Help needed
Posted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:58 pm
by Airrwin
whasf wrote:You'd add a NPCID, just make sure it won't ever clash with what's in there now or in the future, like give it a super high value
Sorry having to go back to this, in the npc_list data table, using navicat, like i assume most of everyone uses, would i just add a new line, and add the NPCID, then the name, polutils_name, pos_rot, XYZ ? i don't quite understand the npc_list data table, i know what it consist of, and what it does.
but i pretty much tried adding a new line, adding the name, polutils name, XYZ but it had issues with something else, and i'd like to see if i can get on the same page with adding one npc to a different location, and from there i can change stuff to it, no problem. like all i'd like to know is adding a extra moogle to a different location if that is easily possible
Re: Custom NPCs, Help needed
Posted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:08 pm
by kjLotus
just copy a moogle that's there already, give it a new ID that's not in use, then give it x/y/z/rot (do @where in game to get your current pos), set status as 0, the rest can just be copied from another moogle.
for picking the ID, you have to pick a number that's in the zone you want (the zone number is part of that number), and isn't already taken by either another npc or a mob. best way probably is to pick an ID from anything from the zone you want, paste it into the programmer mode of windows calculator, switch to hex, and then change the last 3 digits to 399 (and then change back to decimal mode)