Creating a custom augment NPC

User avatar
Aale
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:08 pm

Creating a custom augment NPC

Post by Aale » Tue Jun 30, 2015 1:38 am

Been trying to reverse engineer a custom augment NPC using the add-on scenario box in Lower Jeuno but I have no real coding knowledge. What I need help with if anyone can, is how to get my NPC to recognize the item I trade to it. If I trade an onion sword, is there a way for me to have the npc recognize that item, and add augments from a predetermined selection of variables?

Ex: Whatever gear item traded + 10 Beastman Seals which I'll have set up for say HP+30 would spit out

player:addItem(xxxxx,1,1,29);

where xxxxxx would = whatever item ID the gear I traded initially was.

Any help would be great! Sorry if this is hard to follow, it's almost 2 am and my brain is fried lol.

User avatar
Aale
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:08 pm

Re: Creating a custom augment NPC

Post by Aale » Wed Jul 01, 2015 1:12 am

Edit - page cleanup.
Last edited by Aale on Thu Jul 02, 2015 1:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Aale
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:08 pm

Re: Creating a custom augment NPC

Post by Aale » Thu Jul 02, 2015 12:59 am

Ok, so I can up with a more elegant solution. At least a highly customizable solution anyway. This way you can tie an item of your choice to an augment of your choice with any combination you like.

Code: Select all

-----------------------------------
-- onTrade Action
-----------------------------------

function onTrade(player,npc,trade)
    
    local count = trade:getItemCount();
    local prize = trade:getItem(0);
    local a1 = 0;
    local a2 = 0;
    local a3 = 0;
    local a4 = 0;
    local v1 = 0;
    local v2 = 0;
    local v3 = 0;
    local v4 = 0;
		
		if trade:getItem(1) == 1535 then 
			a1 = 512
			v1 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(2) == 1535 then 
 			a2 = 512
 			v2 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(3) == 1535 then 
			a3 = 512
			v3 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(4) == 1535 then 
 			a4 = 512
			v4 = 4
 		end
		
		if trade:getItem(1) == 1536 then 
			a1 = 513
			v1 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(2) == 1536 then 
 			a2 = 513
			v2 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(3) == 1536 then 
			a3 = 513
			v3 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(4) == 1536 then 
			a4 = 513
			v4 = 4
		end

		if trade:getItem(1) == 1537 then 
			a1 = 514
			v1 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(2) == 1537 then 
			a2 = 514
			v2 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(3) == 1537 then 
			a3 = 514
			v3 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(4) == 1537 then 
			a4 = 514
			v4 = 4
		end
		
		if trade:getItem(1) == 1538 then 
			a1 = 515
			v1 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(2) == 1538 then 
			a2 = 515
			v2 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(3) == 1538 then 
			a3 = 515
			v3 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(4) == 1538 then 
			a4 = 515
			v4 = 4
		end
		
		if trade:getItem(1) == 1539 then 
			a1 = 516
			v1 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(2) == 1539 then 
			a2 = 516
			v2 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(3) == 1539 then 
			a3 = 516
			v3 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(4) == 1539 then 
			a4 = 516
			v4 = 4
		end
		
		if trade:getItem(1) == 1540 then 
			a1 = 517
			v1 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(2) == 1540 then 
			a2 = 517
			v2 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(3) == 1540 then 
			a3 = 517
			v3 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(4) == 1540 then 
			a4 = 517
			v4 = 4
		end

		if trade:getItem(1) == 1541 then 
			a1 = 518
			v1 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(2) == 1541 then 
			a2 = 518
			v2 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(3) == 1541 then 
			a3 = 518
			v3 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(4) == 1541 then 
			a4 = 518
			v4 = 4
		end
		
   if(player:getFreeSlotsCount() >= 1) then
      player:tradeComplete();
      player:addItem(prize,1,a1,v1,a2,v2,a3,v3,a4,v4);
      player:messageSpecial(ITEM_OBTAINED,prize);
   else
      player:messageSpecial(ITEM_CANNOT_BE_OBTAINED,prize);
   end
 
end;
It is important to note a few things though, the item you wish to augment MUST be in slot 0, and the items you use to apply augments must be in slots 1, 2, 3, and 4. (Any combination of these will work, but slots 5, 6, and 7 will return nothing. See shitty picture below.)

Image

You can add as many augment options as like like to this by copy/pasting in a new segment like the one below and edit item ID / augment ID to your liking.

Code: Select all

      if trade:getItem(1) == 1541 then 
			a1 = 518
			v1 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(2) == 1541 then 
			a2 = 518
			v2 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(3) == 1541 then 
			a3 = 518
			v3 = 4
		elseif trade:getItem(4) == 1541 then 
			a4 = 518
			v4 = 4
		end

Trading an item by itself will wipe all augments from it just in case you want to sell back to AH or whatever. Augments will apply to any gear afaik, rare, rare/ex or otherwise. Hope this helps people out, I know I've been trying to figure it out forever.

kennxonline
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 2:58 pm

Re: Creating a custom augment NPC

Post by kennxonline » Thu Oct 22, 2015 5:25 pm

OMG thank you so much for making this, just what I wanted on my server!

Questions,
How do I get it to take x30 beastmen seals for a augment? Currently only can get 1.
how do I made the NPC talk and talk about augments to players? If you could help me thanks!

you made my day <3

shadowuz
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 9:46 am

Re: Creating a custom augment NPC

Post by shadowuz » Thu Oct 22, 2015 6:59 pm

add a ontrigger func. for msg:

Code: Select all

-----------------------------------
-- onTrigger Action
-----------------------------------

function onTrigger(player,npc)
  player:PrintToPlayer("insert your text");
  end
for the taking 30 bs's i think u'll just need to do/add a1= itemid,amount but i'm not sure as i'm still learning also

Code: Select all

 a1 = 518,30

kennxonline
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 2:58 pm

Re: Creating a custom augment NPC

Post by kennxonline » Fri Oct 23, 2015 12:37 am

yay it work thank you so much !!

kennxonline
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 2:58 pm

Re: Creating a custom augment NPC

Post by kennxonline » Fri Oct 23, 2015 3:19 pm

if you want you can check out my server Moogles.
--server chaosds.ddns.net

kennxonline
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 2:58 pm

Re: Creating a custom augment NPC

Post by kennxonline » Mon Nov 16, 2015 2:13 pm

Do you know how I would go by making a quest that checks a players level and/or key item requirement to active the quest. Also how do I make quest hand out augmented items. Ive tried and failed at this and would make a awesome input to my server please help. I am the only one working on my server I don't know much about scripting yet.

Code: Select all

-----------------------------------
-- Area: Norg
-- NPC: Andrause
-- Augment NPC
-----------------------------------

-----------------------------------
-- onTrigger Action
-----------------------------------
	
function onTrigger(player, itemId, quantity, aug0, aug0val, aug1, aug1val, aug2, aug2val, aug3, aug3val, trialId)
    -- Load needed text ids for players current zone..
    local TextIDs = "scripts/zones/" .. player:getZoneName() .. "/TextIDs";
    package.loaded[TextIDs] = nil;
    require(TextIDs); 

    -- Ensure item id was given..
    if (itemId == nil or tonumber(itemId) == nil or tonumber(itemId) == 0) then
        player:PrintToPlayer( "You must enter a valid item id." );
        return;
    end
    
    -- Ensure the player has room to obtain the item...
    if (player:getFreeSlotsCount() == 0) then
        player:messageSpecial( ITEM_CANNOT_BE_OBTAINED, itemId );
        return;
    end
    -- Give the player the item...
    player:addItem( 12643, 1, 147, 1,);
    player:messageSpecial( ITEM_OBTAINED, 12643 );
end
I feel like im close but still so far away :((

User avatar
TeoTwawki
Developer
Posts: 527
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 9:50 pm

Re: Creating a custom augment NPC

Post by TeoTwawki » Wed Nov 18, 2015 5:36 pm

kennxonline, what you are passing that NPC is incorrect and can't work. Command scripts and NPC scripts don't work the same. Learn your way around the language first, try coding new things second, or everyone that tries to help you will wind up doing all the work while trying not to hurt feelings.

Edit: grammar fail.
Last edited by TeoTwawki on Fri Nov 20, 2015 1:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Hi, I run The Demiurge server.


Image
Always code as if the guy who ends up maintaining your code will be a violent psychopath who knows where you live. - Martin Golding
PLS USE [ code ] CODE TAGS [ /code ] WHEN POSTING CODE
DO NOT PRIVATE MESSAGE ME ABOUT BUGS

kennxonline
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 2:58 pm

Re: Creating a custom augment NPC

Post by kennxonline » Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:56 pm

thanks for all the help.

Post Reply