Create a New NPC

Vincent

Create a New NPC

Post by Vincent » Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:52 pm

Hello everyone, i'm new to the project, I tested pXI some years ago but it wasnt very advanced.
Just a few days ago i read about DSP and immediatly reinstalled FFXI to test, i was amazed, good job to everybody.
So i joined mvd's server and started searching a bit about how i could help the project. So far I've setup a server on my computer and am testing/learning about DS's architecture.

My motivation, as a player and a lover of videogames is to preserve FFXI for future generations. Let's say in 10, maybe 20 years (when SE's server will be down) someone wants to discover this wonderful game, if nothing's done now it will be harder later, just like those guys in the 80s dumped Arcade games so i could discover them.

Ok here are my questions :

What would be the process to create, not simply re-use, new characters/weapons/items/zones/dialogs ?
The way i see it, there are DAT files that contain all the raw infos, then the SQL tables and LUA files are here to link them together.
Lets say there is text A, text B, name X, number Y for a NPC in a DAT. When the player enters a zone NPC is called via "packets" ? Then its position/model is loaded via the SQL. Then the lua defines what actions are played and what triggers them, like : if clic > then print A andif Y=0 then print B etc etc.
So can we add new DAT files with new NPC dialogs ? Then just link the id in the SQL and LUA ?

Now what i couldnt clearly read anywhere was where is exactly everything. For example what defines the name of a NPC ? The data in the DAT ? the name in the DB ? Where are those lines of dialog stored ? I can see some in text.lua but not all. Some infos seem to overlap and it very confusing.

If it's already been explained somewhere i'm sorry about asking again, please feel free send me a link :D
Sorry for the long post, and thanks for the answers :)

whasf
Site Admin

Re: Create a New NPC