Page 1 of 1

DSP and Windower

Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 8:50 pm
by kjLotus
After a bit of collaboration with the Windower team, Windower now (finally) works with DSP servers.

To get started, download Windower 4 over at http://windower.net, and get the latest xiloader.exe from https://github.com/DarkstarProject/xilo ... es/latest/.

Drop xiloader.exe to your SquareEnix/PlayOnlineViewer folder (the same one that has pol.exe in it).

After that, run windower.exe in its own folder to download all the necessary stuff. Open settings.xml with an editor (or open windower and create some profiles first), since the options we need to add are not in the GUI. You'll need to add <executable>xiloader.exe</executable> to every profile, as well as <args></args> with your arguments (server, user, etc.).

As an example, here's one of my local profiles:

Code: Select all

  <profile name="local">
    <consolekey>Insert</consolekey>
    <mipmaplevel>6</mipmaplevel>
    <uiscale>1</uiscale>
    <supersampling>2</supersampling>
    <bumpmapping>true</bumpmapping>
    <args>--user kjLotus</args>
    <executable>xiloader.exe</executable>
  </profile>
After that, you should be able to select your profile from the launcher and play using Windower 4!

Please note that on Windower's side, it's only kind of supported - that means asking for support from us before them if you have a problem that is specific to private servers.

Thanks, and happy HNM camping!

Re: DSP and Windower

Posted: Mon Apr 06, 2015 7:58 am
by tagban
w00t

Re: DSP and Windower

Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 11:21 pm
by TeoTwawki
Just mentioning because some ppl have recently been pains in the rear about it:
Windower allow you to specify both the path to the exe and the exe's file name, but certain 3rd party stuffs expect it to be named pol.exe this still does not require renaming the original SE pol.exe you can have your xiloader anywhere, and it will still work, and windower itself does not require it to be renamed - only that 3rd party stuff, if you use it.

Re: DSP and Windower

Posted: Thu May 28, 2015 5:09 pm
by Desufire
teotwawki wrote:Just mentioning because some ppl have recently been pains in the rear about it:
Windower allow you to specify both the path to the exe and the exe's file name, but certain 3rd party stuffs expect it to be named pol.exe this still does not require renaming the original SE pol.exe you can have your xiloader anywhere, and it will still work, and windower itself does not require it to be renamed - only that 3rd party stuff, if you use it.
3rd party stuff as in add-ons and plugins? I recently switched over from Ashita and haven't had any issues running the game. Some of the add-ons / plugins act up but nothing serious.

Re: DSP and Windower

Posted: Thu May 28, 2015 6:59 pm
by TeoTwawki
Desufire wrote:3rd party stuff as in add-ons and plugins? I recently switched over from Ashita and haven't had any issues running the game. Some of the add-ons / plugins act up but nothing serious.
Just certain specific things, like some whm curebot ppl use.

Re: DSP and Windower

Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:02 pm
by KOSMOS
teotwawki wrote:
Desufire wrote:3rd party stuff as in add-ons and plugins? I recently switched over from Ashita and haven't had any issues running the game. Some of the add-ons / plugins act up but nothing serious.
Just certain specific things, like some whm curebot ppl use.
Has anyone figured out the reason for this? Is it only on DSP servers or retail as well?

Re: DSP and Windower

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 2:46 am
by TeoTwawki
KOSMOS wrote:
teotwawki wrote:
Desufire wrote:3rd party stuff as in add-ons and plugins? I recently switched over from Ashita and haven't had any issues running the game. Some of the add-ons / plugins act up but nothing serious.
Just certain specific things, like some whm curebot ppl use.
Has anyone figured out the reason for this? Is it only on DSP servers or retail as well?
Its because said 3rd party stuff is specifically looking for a process with the name "pol.exe" and not "pol.exe OR xiloader.exe".

Both windower and ashita look for whatever name you tell them in the profile configuration, so they don't have that prob themselves.

Re: DSP and Windower

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 5:01 pm
by Desufire
teotwawki wrote:
KOSMOS wrote:
teotwawki wrote: Just certain specific things, like some whm curebot ppl use.
Has anyone figured out the reason for this? Is it only on DSP servers or retail as well?
Its because said 3rd party stuff is specifically looking for a process with the name "pol.exe" and not "pol.exe OR xiloader.exe".

Both windower and ashita look for whatever name you tell them in the profile configuration, so they don't have that prob themselves.
So far everything I use works. I get spammed a bit during load in with "file doesn't exist" but they work regardless. I'm still playing around with the settings and stuff though.

Re: DSP and Windower

Posted: Wed Jun 17, 2015 4:14 pm
by Misermurphy
I just tried to download xiloader and Norton blocks it any idea why

Re: DSP and Windower

Posted: Wed Jun 17, 2015 7:21 pm
by kjLotus
Misermurphy wrote:I just tried to download xiloader and Norton blocks it any idea why
norton probably doesn't like function hooking