Maat quests

Any discussion not related to the other forum topics
Post Reply
FlashDust
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:53 pm

Maat quests

Post by FlashDust » Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:31 pm

sry not sure if this the right area, but i was wondering how to disable maat quests for all limit breaks

User avatar
whasf
Site Admin
Posts: 1312
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: Maat quests

Post by whasf » Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:54 pm

WHat do you mean "disable"? You can modify settings.lua so the starting level cap is 75.
-- Whasf

FlashDust
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:53 pm

Re: Maat quests

Post by FlashDust » Mon Nov 05, 2012 1:09 pm

problem solved thanks

mvd1987
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:36 am

Re: Maat quests

Post by mvd1987 » Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:06 pm

problem not solved what he means is this:

MAX_LEVEL = ??; -- Level max of the server, works by disabling Maat quests.


if i put on the ?? 99 will i need to disable maat quests as its says?? cause its not working now.

i think thats what he means, so do you have the anser on that please whasf??

i know this is not the place to post this but the post was already there so.

greetings michael
Owner/GMLeader mvd1987/michaelvandun Fantasy World International Server

PrBlahBlahtson
Developer
Posts: 539
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:17 am

Re: Maat quests

Post by PrBlahBlahtson » Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:08 pm

If you want to prevent the quests from letting you advance beyond a certain point (say, 60) then I believe the trunk version will use whatever is set in settings.lua. It works by disabling the genkai quests, so anything that isn't a multiple of 5 won't work.

If you want to allow players to go beyond 75, you would have to modify the existing genkai quests, since the L80+ genkais are not scripted. Alternatively, you could find the text and NPC data, and script the quests.

If you want to remove genkais entirely, there's multiple ways to do it.
- Change /sql/char_jobs.sql so that the default value for 'genkai' is whatever you'd like. It's 50 in the trunk.
- Change /scripts/globals/server.lua so that the CharCreate function includes the following, where ## is the level cap you want:

Code: Select all

player:levelCap(##);
- An NPC that uses the same script function as part of its behavior.

Note that the first two will only impact new characters. Existing characters would have to be edited. The third method requires new players to know about the unusual behavior, and since dialog isn't customizable, it's not very clear that it happened. You can throw in a "player:messageSpecial(textid);", but you'll need to hunt down the appropriate textid for that zone to display the new level cap.

Also note that all three methods may have conflicts with the trunk, so you'll have to keep that in mind every time you update your server.

Personally, I'd go the SQL route. Least likely to be a problem, until/unless Geo and Rune Fencer are added, and even then it probably won't conflict.

And finally, note that L75+ content is not a priority, and probably won't work properly. :) I think some of the gear is also completely missing item_mods, including defense.

mvd1987
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:36 am

Re: Maat quests

Post by mvd1987 » Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:14 pm

thanx alot :)

going to check and add everything now :)

i already had changed everything in navcat but then i will need to put everybody higher once they create a char so with your help and more inside info i can let them have it put it in navcat by itself.

really thanx on that :)

greetings michael
Owner/GMLeader mvd1987/michaelvandun Fantasy World International Server

PrBlahBlahtson
Developer
Posts: 539
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:17 am

Re: Maat quests

Post by PrBlahBlahtson » Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:04 am

Forgot to mention, if you change the default in char_jobs.sql, you're going to have to rerun the script to make it actually take effect. Keep in mind that will destroy your char_jobs table if you already have established characters. You can also use "Design Table" in Navicat to alter the char_jobs table so that the default is higher, but then script would undo that change if it ever has to be run again.

I guess the tl;dr is every change you make away from trunk has the possibility to bite you from behind, so consider carefully.

mvd1987
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:36 am

Re: Maat quests

Post by mvd1987 » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:41 am

yes i thought on that myself but thanx for the info :)

everything is working fine now :)

thanx on that
Owner/GMLeader mvd1987/michaelvandun Fantasy World International Server

Post Reply