ZMQ merged to master

User avatar
kjLotus
Special Guest
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:16 pm

ZMQ merged to master

Post by kjLotus » Fri Nov 21, 2014 8:42 pm

I just merged the zmq branch to master.

What this means: some stuff is probably not going to work. You may see parties get in a messed up state, or maybe certain chat messages not work. I need to hear about how to reproduce these things if they happen.

Windows servers: shouldn't need to do anything other than normal update procedure to continue.
Linux servers: you need libzmq now to continue running the server. (For ubuntu, the package is libzmq3-dev)

Both servers: any zone or combination of zones can now be run on its/their own process. To do this, just change the IP/port in zone_settings, and run the server with --ip <ip> --port <port> (same ones you put in zone_settings). Only caveat is that currently, instance zones must be on the same server as the entrance zone (Halvung with Mount Zhayolm, for example)

Extras: /yell, conquest, probably some other stuff I don't remember right now

Specifics: a lot of stuff goes through the login server now (party invites, chat, etc), so if you kill the login server, expect chat to stop working until it's restarted

Alexandre24
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 10:15 pm
Location: Hawkesbury, Ontario, CANADA

Re: ZMQ merged to master

Post by Alexandre24 » Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:59 pm

I tested its ok, thanks kjLotus

Delaide
Posts: 478
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 8:58 am

Re: ZMQ merged to master

Post by Delaide » Sat Nov 22, 2014 3:54 am

Actually, I can't even start the game server. It keeps crashing.

I just copied the last part of the log file, right before it crashed. Let me know if I need to paste all.

Code: Select all

[16:53:47][1;32m[Status][0m do_init: map_config is reading 		 - [1;32m[OK][0m
[16:53:47][1;32m[Status][0m luautils::init:lua initializing... 		 - [1;32m[OK][0m
[16:53:47][1;32m[Status][0m do_init: sqlhandle is allocating 		 - [1;32m[OK][0m
[16:53:47][1;32m[Status][0m do_init: zlib is reading 			 - [1;32m[OK][0m
[16:53:47][1;32m[Status][0m do_init: loading items 			 - [1;32m[OK][0m
[16:53:47][1;32m[Status][0m do_init: loading spells 			 - [1;32m[OK][0m
[16:53:48][1;32m[Status][0m do_init: loading zones[16:53:54][1;32m[Status][0m [1;37mluautils::free[0m:lua free... 	 - [1;32m[OK][0m

User avatar
kjLotus
Special Guest
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: ZMQ merged to master

Post by kjLotus » Sat Nov 22, 2014 3:57 am

the log file isn't particularily helpful, best to just run it in gdb

Delaide
Posts: 478
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 8:58 am

Re: ZMQ merged to master

Post by Delaide » Sat Nov 22, 2014 3:59 am

Hmm, can't figure out how to run in debug, since it keeps giving me a build path error. It is sticking the exe and pdb in ...darkstar\win32\DSGame-server\Release instead of in ...darkstar

Delaide
Posts: 478
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 8:58 am

Re: ZMQ merged to master

Post by Delaide » Sat Nov 22, 2014 4:12 am

Wondering. I hand edited some of my SQL dumps for character backup.
For example, on Conquest, the arrow marker was removed, but the last conquest region control was added. I think I made a couple minor changes to another, but don't remember.
Is it possible that my game server isn't starting because of those modifications? Should I be going in and editing them in navicat, or not editing them at all?

User avatar
kjLotus
Special Guest
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: ZMQ merged to master

Post by kjLotus » Sat Nov 22, 2014 5:13 am

only way to find out is to run it in debug (on windows) or gdb

User avatar
tagban
Posts: 352
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:31 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Re: ZMQ merged to master

Post by tagban » Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:44 pm

Just make sure you guys update your zone IP usin the real IP address now. :) Thats what my issue was.

Delaide
Posts: 478
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 8:58 am

Re: ZMQ merged to master

Post by Delaide » Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:26 am

tagban wrote:Just make sure you guys update your zone IP usin the real IP address now. :) Thats what my issue was.
Sorry, I don't understand. Can you clarify what you mean?

User avatar
kjLotus
Special Guest
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: ZMQ merged to master

Post by kjLotus » Tue Dec 02, 2014 3:50 pm

zone_settings uses dotted IP address now, not decimal form IP addresses

Post Reply