Custom NPCs, Help needed

Airrwin
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:12 pm

Custom NPCs, Help needed

Post by Airrwin » Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:50 am

Hi, i've been working on a server for 2months on and off, and i want to know if anyone here knows how to have a custom NPC located at such and such Position in-game, i'm generally trying to get a NPC at such and such position, with the ability to set a homepoint, or allow someone to mount onto a chocobo. or allow the moghouse moogle, to be put in a new position.

i've tried making a homepoint spawn at such and such XYZ, and no luck, i've tried copying a homepoint location file and change some things in it, and no success, even edditing a already homepoint's XYZ

my main goal is to, be able to make a NPC, make it either able to set a homepoint, mount someone to a chocobo, or act as a moogle. or if anyone can help me figure out how to move a moogle to any XYZ / zone ID. i'd be much greatful :)
Last edited by Airrwin on Fri Jan 23, 2015 12:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
whasf
Site Admin
Posts: 1312
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: custom commands Help needed

Post by whasf » Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:22 am

You can put a "NPC" anywhere you want, just add it to the NPC_LIST database table. But the name will only show "NPC" in the game unless you create a new .DAT and distribute it to your players. Then you can create a script for it as usual.
-- Whasf

Airrwin
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:12 pm

Re: custom commands Help needed

Post by Airrwin » Fri Jan 23, 2015 12:17 pm

whasf wrote:You can put a "NPC" anywhere you want, just add it to the NPC_LIST database table. But the name will only show "NPC" in the game unless you create a new .DAT and distribute it to your players. Then you can create a script for it as usual.
so i would only have to get the npcid and then add it into the npc_list database table? of course, with the XYZ

User avatar
whasf
Site Admin
Posts: 1312
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: Custom NPCs, Help needed

Post by whasf » Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:54 pm

You'd add a NPCID, just make sure it won't ever clash with what's in there now or in the future, like give it a super high value
-- Whasf

Delaide
Posts: 478
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 8:58 am

Re: Custom NPCs, Help needed

Post by Delaide » Sat Jan 24, 2015 1:53 am

You can also just copy another dat if you want, or use a custom dat. I use a couple different websites for my custom dats, and they have mobs and npc customizations.

Airrwin
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:12 pm

Re: Custom NPCs, Help needed

Post by Airrwin » Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:08 am

Delaide wrote:You can also just copy another dat if you want, or use a custom dat. I use a couple different websites for my custom dats, and they have mobs and npc customizations.
what do you mean exactly? I'm very new to trying to create/copy an npc to a different location, in the navicat i tried to edit the npc_list table, an add a moogle to said XYZ, but i have no idea where to put the zone number, and at the very end there is a thing called (Look) and on other moogle npcs it has "R" in the section, but it won't let me edit it. so i'm trying to understand what you mean by copying dat file for that?

User avatar
whasf
Site Admin
Posts: 1312
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: Custom NPCs, Help needed

Post by whasf » Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:41 pm

He's talking about for the client
-- Whasf

Airrwin
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:12 pm

Re: Custom NPCs, Help needed

Post by Airrwin » Sat Jan 24, 2015 6:07 pm

whasf wrote:He's talking about for the client
Oh i see

Airrwin
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:12 pm

Re: Custom NPCs, Help needed

Post by Airrwin » Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:58 pm

whasf wrote:You'd add a NPCID, just make sure it won't ever clash with what's in there now or in the future, like give it a super high value
Sorry having to go back to this, in the npc_list data table, using navicat, like i assume most of everyone uses, would i just add a new line, and add the NPCID, then the name, polutils_name, pos_rot, XYZ ? i don't quite understand the npc_list data table, i know what it consist of, and what it does.

but i pretty much tried adding a new line, adding the name, polutils name, XYZ but it had issues with something else, and i'd like to see if i can get on the same page with adding one npc to a different location, and from there i can change stuff to it, no problem. like all i'd like to know is adding a extra moogle to a different location if that is easily possible

User avatar
kjLotus
Special Guest
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: Custom NPCs, Help needed

Post by kjLotus » Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:08 pm

just copy a moogle that's there already, give it a new ID that's not in use, then give it x/y/z/rot (do @where in game to get your current pos), set status as 0, the rest can just be copied from another moogle.

for picking the ID, you have to pick a number that's in the zone you want (the zone number is part of that number), and isn't already taken by either another npc or a mob. best way probably is to pick an ID from anything from the zone you want, paste it into the programmer mode of windows calculator, switch to hex, and then change the last 3 digits to 399 (and then change back to decimal mode)

Post Reply