New client loader for test server
Re: New client loader for test server
Another small update:
I was able to trigger high cpu ~50% (laggy) from a single instance (only).
Conditions:
July 8 update not applied
ffxi-boot v3 (not beta)
Current stable Ashita (not RC5 for July 8 update)
I'm updating now, so I don't know if that was a fluke.
I was able to trigger high cpu ~50% (laggy) from a single instance (only).
Conditions:
July 8 update not applied
ffxi-boot v3 (not beta)
Current stable Ashita (not RC5 for July 8 update)
I'm updating now, so I don't know if that was a fluke.
-
- Developer
- Posts: 707
- Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:11 am
Re: New client loader for test server
It would be helpful to know as well how many cores you have. For example on my hex-core CPU something taking up 17% is a lot more worrisome than 50% on a single-core CPU.
Re: New client loader for test server
Three core. I also tried setting affinity.
When running one instance:
If I set pol to a single core and it bugs, it becomes unplayable. If I leave it to run on all cores when bugged, it's still mostly playable, but is slightly "jerky" with intermittent short pauses, rather than dropping to a lower, but consistent framerate.
Edit:
Just triggered bug alt-tabbing from firefox to ffxi. No idea why that would do it.
Going to try with desktop composition turned off (Win7 aero), so if it could be gfx related.
Edit 2:
Nvm, still bugged after about 45 min with desktop composition off. Did notice one thing, though. This time only 2 out of 3 instances bugged at the same time. The first one that I logged in on did not bug.
When running one instance:
If I set pol to a single core and it bugs, it becomes unplayable. If I leave it to run on all cores when bugged, it's still mostly playable, but is slightly "jerky" with intermittent short pauses, rather than dropping to a lower, but consistent framerate.
Edit:
Just triggered bug alt-tabbing from firefox to ffxi. No idea why that would do it.
Going to try with desktop composition turned off (Win7 aero), so if it could be gfx related.
Edit 2:
Nvm, still bugged after about 45 min with desktop composition off. Did notice one thing, though. This time only 2 out of 3 instances bugged at the same time. The first one that I logged in on did not bug.
-
- Developer
- Posts: 707
- Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:11 am
Re: New client loader for test server
Updated internal boot client to ffxi-boot_mod 3.2
This update fixes the signature for hairpinning by replacing the static offsets with a scanner so that future game updates shouldn't cause the hack to stop working. atom0s did all the work again
This update fixes the signature for hairpinning by replacing the static offsets with a scanner so that future game updates shouldn't cause the hack to stop working. atom0s did all the work again
-
- Posts: 61
- Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 3:47 pm
Re: New client loader for test server
That is Wonderful News!!!!
Good job you guys!!!
Good job you guys!!!
Re: New client loader for test server
hurray, i can get drops againbluekirby0 wrote:Updated internal boot client to ffxi-boot_mod 3.2
This update fixes the signature for hairpinning by replacing the static offsets with a scanner so that future game updates shouldn't cause the hack to stop working. atom0s did all the work again
Re: New client loader for test server
I may be off base, but could something like this help troubleshoot threads racing?
https://code.google.com/p/thread-sanitizer/
https://code.google.com/p/thread-sanitizer/
-
- Developer
- Posts: 707
- Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:11 am
Re: New client loader for test server
Race conditions aren't the problem here. If they were it would more likely just be crashing outright.
Re: New client loader for test server
Thread info from ProcExp.
Here are stack traces from what looks like the two main ffxi-boot mod threads. It looks like MigrateWinsockConfiguration is spinning (spin lock) and never completing.
Attached is a screenshot of the thread list. The ones at the end are all FFXiMain.dll threads (constantly created/freed).
Boot: ffxi-boot mod 3.2
OS: Win7 x64
Edit:
As an aside:
I noticed I can suspend the spinning thread (pol.exe+0x2ae0), CPU usage goes back to normal, and I can still play. I've only tried zoning a couple times, though.
Spinning thread (pol.exe+0x2ae0):
Normal thread (pol.exe+0x6783):
Here are stack traces from what looks like the two main ffxi-boot mod threads. It looks like MigrateWinsockConfiguration is spinning (spin lock) and never completing.
Attached is a screenshot of the thread list. The ones at the end are all FFXiMain.dll threads (constantly created/freed).
Boot: ffxi-boot mod 3.2
OS: Win7 x64
Edit:
As an aside:
I noticed I can suspend the spinning thread (pol.exe+0x2ae0), CPU usage goes back to normal, and I can still play. I've only tried zoning a couple times, though.
Spinning thread (pol.exe+0x2ae0):
Code: Select all
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForMultipleObjects+0xc0a
ntoskrnl.exe!KeAcquireSpinLockAtDpcLevel+0x732
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForMutexObject+0x19f
ntoskrnl.exe!PoStartNextPowerIrp+0xba4
ntoskrnl.exe!PoStartNextPowerIrp+0x1821
ntoskrnl.exe!KiCheckForKernelApcDelivery+0x25
ntoskrnl.exe!MmProbeAndLockPages+0xbc6
afd.sys+0x60d7a
afd.sys+0x5e6b4
ntoskrnl.exe!NtMapViewOfSection+0x15a7
ntoskrnl.exe!NtDeviceIoControlFile+0x56
ntoskrnl.exe!KeSynchronizeExecution+0x3a23
wow64cpu.dll!TurboDispatchJumpAddressEnd+0x6c0
wow64cpu.dll!TurboDispatchJumpAddressEnd+0x1fb
wow64.dll!Wow64SystemServiceEx+0x1ce
wow64.dll!Wow64LdrpInitialize+0x429
ntdll.dll!RtlIsDosDeviceName_U+0x24c87
ntdll.dll!LdrInitializeThunk+0xe
ntdll.dll!ZwDeviceIoControlFile+0x15
mswsock.dll!MigrateWinsockConfiguration+0x53e1
pol.exe+0x2b79
Code: Select all
wow64win.dll+0x4164a
wow64win.dll+0x27c41
wow64.dll!Wow64SystemServiceEx+0xd7
wow64cpu.dll!TurboDispatchJumpAddressEnd+0x2d
wow64.dll!Wow64SystemServiceEx+0x1ce
wow64.dll!Wow64LdrpInitialize+0x429
ntdll.dll!RtlIsDosDeviceName_U+0x24c87
ntdll.dll!LdrInitializeThunk+0xe
GDI32.dll!D3DKMTRender+0x15
nvd3dum.dll!QueryOglResource+0xfd08
nvd3dum.dll!QueryOglResource+0xbd3a
nvd3dum.dll!QueryOglResource+0xf293
nvd3dum.dll!QueryOglResource+0x1b947
nvd3dum.dll!QueryOglResource+0x1bc47
nvd3dum.dll+0x2ed34c
nvd3dum.dll+0x2ed8f1
MSVCR110.dll!__crtFlsGetValue+0x15
FFXiMain.dll+0x32cb
FFXiMain.dll!DllUnregisterServer+0x2b22
FFXiMain.dll!DllUnregisterServer+0x2aecbf
FFXiMain.dll!DllUnregisterServer+0xd6771
ntdll.dll!KiUserCallbackDispatcher+0x2e
-
- Developer
- Posts: 707
- Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:11 am
Re: New client loader for test server
Good info, but MigrateWinsockConfiguration is an undocumented function so I'll need to figure out what higher-level function is calling it in order to fix the issue.