how to make a new mob spawnpoint and rules on id's in sql's

Post Reply
mvd1987
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:36 am

how to make a new mob spawnpoint and rules on id's in sql's

Post by mvd1987 » Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:13 am

oke im a bit stuck on creating a new spwanpoint.

putting new model ids in is simple now i know how.

for example i changed all tread leeches to look like paramount gallu from abyssea.

thats was easy and worked fully.

only when i want to change the name from leeche to gallu it wont work,isnt changing the names in mob spawn points and mob pools not enough?? or are those names only for us to regonize them??

then i wanted to see if i can add a new mob from scratch.

so i tryed to make a new spawnpoint and that needed a new mobid for it.

so i made mobid 18500000 so there is room for the new revs but then i needed to make a new group id and pool id and famely id etc etc.

i tryed that all and that wasnt working,didnt show the mob at all
even when i used the new mob id but used the mob group id of the tread leeches it wouldnt show in game also

so now im doing it one by one.

i will first try to make a new spawnpoint, i tryed to make a new spawnpoint so we had another tread leech that looked like gallu but in another pos.

changing the pos on the ones that are already there works but making a new one isnt working for me

so what i really need to know is how to make a new spawnpoint so i can put the mobs in when we find the right model for them (we almost have all model ids now) and want to add them to the project.

cant i just make a new mob id?? or what are the rules on that?/ or does it need to be a follow up of the last mobid??

so the developers that are wortking on spawnpoint and the other mob sql, can you please help me out so we can help the project on this also?? we have a nice team so...

can you give me an example on how to create a new spawnpoint for exicting mob?? so i can move on??

and what are the rules on the id's?? like mob id group id pool id and famely id??

can you make them from stratch or??

and the system id?? since the animated weapons have all stystem id 18, same for god and other mob that arent working?

so please help me on this points:

1 how to make a new spawnpoint that works and spawns a new mob?? like on a mob that already is in the game with out using the old one but make one from stratch.so it only needs a new mob id and will use the same group id from the ones that already exict in that area.
but for letting them spawn in another zone i need to make a new group id and pool id and maybe famely also.
so i need to know how to make a new spawnpoint for an already exicting mob in the same area and i need to know where to start and what to put in for making a hole new mob or let a mob show in another zone then it is already.

2, what are the rules behind the id's in the mob sqls??
like can we make a new mobid, group id, pool id, and famely id??(drop id's will come later but would be nice to have the idea behind those also) and what are the rules and guides to use for making all id's?
just want a bether understanding so we can help help getting all mobs and nm's in game.
(and how does the new nm_spawnpoint sql work?/ its only x y and z pos but where stands pos for? before the the x y and z pos)

but if i can make a new spawnpoint for a mob it will be a beginning so i can work further form there.

thanx already for the help

greetings michael
Owner/GMLeader mvd1987/michaelvandun Fantasy World International Server

mvd1987
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:36 am

Re: how to make a new mob spawnpoint and rules on id's in sq

Post by mvd1987 » Sat Dec 29, 2012 5:50 pm

oke i found it out :) and made my own mob :) and let it respawn on my pos with a own made mob id.

will screw around with the ids some more and will fill in the missing mobs and nm's while im working on them :)


and will ask the rest of my team to work on mobs casting magic since we really need that on the servers.

greetings michael
Owner/GMLeader mvd1987/michaelvandun Fantasy World International Server

bluekirby0
Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:11 am

Re: how to make a new mob spawnpoint and rules on id's in sq

Post by bluekirby0 » Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:01 pm

mvd1987 wrote: only when i want to change the name from leeche to gallu it wont work,isnt changing the names in mob spawn points and mob pools not enough?? or are those names only for us to regonize them??
The name entry in the database tells the core what lua script to look for. You cannot change mob names as they are stored in DATs on the client-side.
mvd1987 wrote: then i wanted to see if i can add a new mob from scratch.

so i tryed to make a new spawnpoint and that needed a new mobid for it.

so i made mobid 18500000 so there is room for the new revs but then i needed to make a new group id and pool id and famely id etc etc.

i tryed that all and that wasnt working,didnt show the mob at all
even when i used the new mob id but used the mob group id of the tread leeches it wouldnt show in game also

so now im doing it one by one.
You misunderstand how mobs work in the client. The mob name isn't transmitted to the client from the server...instead an ID is sent that the client looks up. The client determines the name that belongs to that ID using the DATs. If you just make up and ID, not only will the client have no idea what you are trying to reference, but you could create collisions with valid PC IDs if you use the wrong ranges.
so what i really need to know is how to make a new spawnpoint so i can put the mobs in when we find the right model for them (we almost have all model ids now) and want to add them to the project.

cant i just make a new mob id?? or what are the rules on that?/ or does it need to be a follow up of the last mobid??
What you need to do is grab POLUtils (easy to find on google) and open the data browser. Find an ID in the NPC/Monster List for the appropriate zone that is unused and has the right mob name associated with it, and create an entry using that ID.
and what are the rules on the id's?? like mob id group id pool id and famely id??

can you make them from stratch or??
Yes, those you can make from scratch. You shouldn't need to often, but you can.
and the system id?? since the animated weapons have all stystem id 18, same for god and other mob that arent working?
System id is actually pretty easy to figure out if you stop, take a deep breath, and then look to the right one column to the system column. notice every system id 18 has a system value of unclassified. This is not by accident. You can figure out the rest from there.
1 how to make a new spawnpoint that works and spawns a new mob?? like on a mob that already is in the game with out using the old one but make one from stratch.so it only needs a new mob id and will use the same group id from the ones that already exict in that area.
but for letting them spawn in another zone i need to make a new group id and pool id and maybe famely also.
so i need to know how to make a new spawnpoint for an already exicting mob in the same area and i need to know where to start and what to put in for making a hole new mob or let a mob show in another zone then it is already.
It is possible to create an arbitrary mob anywhere in-game but it is outside the scope of this project since it differs from retail behavior.
2, what are the rules behind the id's in the mob sqls??
like can we make a new mobid, group id, pool id, and famely id??(drop id's will come later but would be nice to have the idea behind those also) and what are the rules and guides to use for making all id's?
just want a bether understanding so we can help help getting all mobs and nm's in game.
I've pretty-much answered all of this, but I will add that drop IDs are arbitrary. Make one up that isn't in use.
(and how does the new nm_spawnpoint sql work?/ its only x y and z pos but where stands pos for? before the the x y and z pos)
I wasn't familiar with that table until just now...from a quick look at the svn history, though, it is used to set a number of random spawn location possibilities for lottery spawn NMs. pos is basically an index number to be used probably with a random number generator to pick which position to use.
but if i can make a new spawnpoint for a mob it will be a beginning so i can work further form there.
Unless this is a key feature you wish to have on your server, give up. We can't really help you support this. I highly suggest you add mobs the correct way.

mvd1987
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:36 am

Re: how to make a new mob spawnpoint and rules on id's in sq

Post by mvd1987 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:49 am

thanx on your info blue :)

most i already tested and noticed myself :)

and the id's are unique so i have to look that up thats np now and i will fill in any missing mob or the mobs with the wrong model,

thats easy and im working on that now,

only thing what i needed to know where the rules on making id's and you answerd them for me, thanx :)

but the strange thing is when i spawn the mob Asterion in his own zone (zone 99, castle o.) with the pos that he needs to be he wont respawn, it already has an mob id in the sql from you guys.

but the strange thing is when i let it spawn in valkurm,it spawns correct on the correct pos with the right model.
i changed the pos and the mob group so it points to zone id 103 instead of 99, and gave it pos -749 -4 144 (134) and it spawn in valkurm on the beach, it only had npc as the name, so thats strange since it has his own mob id. so thats why i thought that maybe more things gave the name instead of only the mib id that lets the client search the name.
and why it wont spawn in his own zone is real strange.

but for now i wil search the right models for the ones that dont have them and will fill in the missing mobs that i can find trough polutilis.

im working on all 75+weapons also so i will add the mobs and weapons when i have more done.

greetings and thanx for all your help
Owner/GMLeader mvd1987/michaelvandun Fantasy World International Server

bluekirby0
Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:11 am

Re: how to make a new mob spawnpoint and rules on id's in sq

Post by bluekirby0 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:36 pm

Make sure to restart your game server when you make sql changes if you want to make sure they take effect. Also, when the client looks up mob IDs, it looks them up in DATs specific to the zone you are currently in. If you are in a zone that does not contain the mob you are referencing, the client won't be able to find all the relevant data on it.

mvd1987
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:36 am

Re: how to make a new mob spawnpoint and rules on id's in sq

Post by mvd1987 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:49 pm

yes i learned alot today :)

i spawned angler tiger in abyssea and it has his own name :)

i found his id and put it in and gave it his model id :)

i only need a way to find all pos from retail and i will fill in all mobs for the project :)

its easy when you know what you have to do haha.

it look overwelming when you start but when you got you got it haha.

thanx blue and maybe you know a way to get the retail pos without me going in since i dont have an working account anymore on the retail :P haha

im asking my players to get them also so i can fill in the pos,for now i will make all mob spanwpoint lines so we have the mobid's already for when i get the pos on all.

we working on listing all 75+weapons and i woill make there stats and mids also and give them back to the project.

only the retail pos is whats holding me back.

greetings michale and thanx again blue
Owner/GMLeader mvd1987/michaelvandun Fantasy World International Server

bluekirby0
Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:11 am

Re: how to make a new mob spawnpoint and rules on id's in sq

Post by bluekirby0 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:13 pm

The problem is that there isn't a way to get the positions without referencing retail. That info isn't stored anywhere in the client, or else we would have all of that info filled out already.

Post Reply