Page 3 of 3

Re: World Chat?

Posted: Mon May 05, 2014 7:11 pm
by kjLotus
Signature wrote:Yeah I need to figure out the code that displays the zone on the other end... I have it setup exactly like you /yell goes into shout thanks to you btw. :)

Code: Select all

new CChatMessagePacket(PChar, MESSAGE_SHOUT, data + 6));
to

Code: Select all

new CChatMessagePacket(PChar, MESSAGE_YELL, data + 6));

Re: World Chat?

Posted: Mon May 05, 2014 9:45 pm
by Signature
Thanks Kj I will try this when no one is online. :)

Re: World Chat?

Posted: Tue May 06, 2014 6:05 am
by Signature

Code: Select all

new CChatMessagePacket(PChar, MESSAGE_YELL, data + 6));
Worked like a charm You now see the zone your shout came from! Fantastic

Re: World Chat?

Posted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 10:51 pm
by evenmonkeys
I apologize for resurrecting an old thread, but I'm trying to get this working on my server as well. I have the data replaced in my packet_system.cpp file as posted by tagban.. However, someone said to rebuild the server and that's where I'm not exactly sure what is meant. Shutting down the server isn't enough and I'm unsure what needs to be rebuilt. Can someone tell me what to do? :)

Re: World Chat?

Posted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 10:59 pm
by kjLotus
open it again in visual studio, hit f7

Re: World Chat?

Posted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 11:16 pm
by evenmonkeys
Thanks for the quick response. I'm not seeing a function for F7 in Visual Studio 2013 for Desktop within packet_system.cpp. When you're saying to open it, are you referring to the packet_system.cpp file or the entire solution? (I don't want to rebuild the solution if I'm not supposed to.)

Re: World Chat?

Posted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 11:34 pm
by Delaide
You need to rebuild the map server. You modify the single file, then rebuild the entire server. You can't rebuild one .cpp at a time.

Re: World Chat?

Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 12:04 am
by kjLotus
evenmonkeys wrote:Thanks for the quick response. I'm not seeing a function for F7 in Visual Studio 2013 for Desktop within packet_system.cpp. When you're saying to open it, are you referring to the packet_system.cpp file or the entire solution? (I don't want to rebuild the solution if I'm not supposed to.)
open the solution and hit f7, sorry

Re: World Chat?

Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 12:31 am
by evenmonkeys
Thank you, guys! I was able to get it working after rebuilding the solution! Even set up a print out for our website to show the world chat.

I'm slowly learning how all of this stuff works. Everyone here has been very friendly and a huge help.