GM Powers don't work after recent update?

Post Reply
namine207
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 6:53 am

GM Powers don't work after recent update?

Post by namine207 » Sun Dec 29, 2013 2:12 pm

Hello! I just updated my server files to the most recent changes, and everything looks and works great- that is, except GM commands. My character is set in the server files to be a level 5 gm, but every time I enter any gm command, including @togglegm, nothing happens. Is there anything about this recent update that could stop gm things from working?

Thanks! :D

User avatar
atom0s
Developer
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:52 am

Re: GM Powers don't work after recent update?

Post by atom0s » Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:25 pm

Are you sure that you have adjusted your characters GM level in the database properly to reflect that?
The new command update works just like the old system did in terms of power to use a command.

Code: Select all

    // Ensure this user can use this command..
    if (permission > PChar->m_GMlevel)
    {
        ShowWarning("cmdhandler::call: Character %s attempting to use higher permission command %s\n", PChar->name.c_str(), cmdname.c_str());

        // Delete the cmdprops table..
        lua_pushnil(m_LState);
        lua_setglobal(m_LState, "cmdprops");

        return -1;
    }
If the permission required is higher then your GM level it wont allow the command to fire.
Does your server console report anything? Any errors or warnings displayed when you try to use a command?

User avatar
kjLotus
Special Guest
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: GM Powers don't work after recent update?

Post by kjLotus » Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:42 pm

atom0s wrote:If the permission required is higher then your GM level it wont allow the command to fire.
Does your server console report anything? Any errors or warnings displayed when you try to use a command?
i had no errors or warnings when i tried (they didn't work for me either), but it was 4 AM and i didn't really feel like looking up why

namine207
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 6:53 am

Re: GM Powers don't work after recent update?

Post by namine207 » Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:44 pm

atom0s wrote:Are you sure that you have adjusted your characters GM level in the database properly to reflect that?
The new command update works just like the old system did in terms of power to use a command.

Code: Select all

    // Ensure this user can use this command..
    if (permission > PChar->m_GMlevel)
    {
        ShowWarning("cmdhandler::call: Character %s attempting to use higher permission command %s\n", PChar->name.c_str(), cmdname.c_str());

        // Delete the cmdprops table..
        lua_pushnil(m_LState);
        lua_setglobal(m_LState, "cmdprops");

        return -1;
    }
If the permission required is higher then your GM level it wont allow the command to fire.
Does your server console report anything? Any errors or warnings displayed when you try to use a command?
Not that I know of, but I'll check real quick to see. One thing that is new is that when it's loading the map server, it says:

Error - cannot open conf/commands.conf: No such file or directory

Loading the game now to see if it says anything when I try to use a command. I'll update this post as soon as I know!

UPDATE: Yeah, it doesn't seem to say anything different. One or two client cannot receive packet or key is invalid, but I've always had those, and one [Debug] CLIENT (username) PERFORMING ACTION 14. Other than that, everything's 100% normal.
Last edited by namine207 on Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

n00bgames
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 12:29 pm

Re: GM Powers don't work after recent update?

Post by n00bgames » Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:52 pm

I'm running on the latest revision, though I don't think I ever changed my conf directory and commands are working fine. I think I excluded my conf directory from the update out of laziness.

User avatar
demolish
Developer
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 7:12 am

Re: GM Powers don't work after recent update?

Post by demolish » Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:53 pm

You need to rebuild DSGameServer when there are changes to the src/map/ .cpp or .h files.
<Giblet[NewBrain]> kj with this first step would be fine on my shit
Click here for a guide on scripting missions.

namine207
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 6:53 am

Re: GM Powers don't work after recent update?

Post by namine207 » Sun Dec 29, 2013 4:24 pm

Xx_DeMoLiSH wrote:You need to rebuild DSGameServer when there are changes to the src/map/ .cpp or .h files.
Oh, dang. I'm stupid. XD Building now. Thank you very much! :D

User avatar
atom0s
Developer
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:52 am

Re: GM Powers don't work after recent update?

Post by atom0s » Sun Dec 29, 2013 7:20 pm

Anything that changes a .h/.cpp file requires you to rebuild the server.

Post Reply