Newbie help. unable to locate component

Can't get the client or server set up? Ask here!
We're on Discord! https://discord.gg/4dgAzfC
Post Reply
Shakuzen
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:17 pm

Newbie help. unable to locate component

Post by Shakuzen » Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:57 pm

Hi guys.. i'm hoping this is a real simple issue
I followed to wikiguide to configuring your client.
but i'm pretty sure i missed something. I play the retail version of ffxi but i still followed the instructions
patched, updated, checked files and copied the data file to the ffxi directory from the playonline one.
downloaded ffxi-boot, set the ip to the official darkstar play server, saved and booted the .exe file
came up with this message "ffxi-boot.exe - Unable To Locate Component"
This application has failed to start because MSVCR100.dll was not found. re-installing the application may fix this problem.
I also then tried the mXI boot and it came up with the same error message.
Any idea guys?
i'm sure i'm just being a total noob in this matter. but any help would be appreciated.


Shaku~

doghusky1990
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:26 pm

Re: Newbie help. unable to locate component

Post by doghusky1990 » Thu Aug 09, 2012 5:12 pm

You need to install Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable

Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (x86)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/d ... laylang=en

Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable Package for (x64)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/d ... laylang=en


or it might be the 2010 version

Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x86)
http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/de ... px?id=5555

Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x64)
http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/de ... x?id=14632


ps. i have the 2008 and 2010 installed so you can install both.

Shakuzen
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:17 pm

Re: Newbie help. unable to locate component

Post by Shakuzen » Thu Aug 09, 2012 5:14 pm

Sweet, thanks.
i'll get right on that and give you an update!

doghusky1990
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:26 pm

Re: Newbie help. unable to locate component

Post by doghusky1990 » Thu Aug 09, 2012 6:01 pm

please do, I would love to know if this was any help :)

bluekirby0
Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:11 am

Re: Newbie help. unable to locate component

Post by bluekirby0 » Thu Aug 09, 2012 6:02 pm

It should be the 2010 x86 version you are looking for. It is mentioned in the troubleshooting guide on the wiki.

Shakuzen
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:17 pm

Re: Newbie help. unable to locate component

Post by Shakuzen » Thu Aug 09, 2012 6:06 pm

Finished downloading the c++ packs, also updating to vista sp2 since I redid my computer the other day. It's rebooting and installing now, so give me a few and I'll let you know the outcome

Shakuzen
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:17 pm

Re: Newbie help. unable to locate component

Post by Shakuzen » Thu Aug 09, 2012 6:32 pm

ok it all works and i'm online =)
the only problem now is i dont have any sound.. is this normal?

doghusky1990
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:26 pm

Re: Newbie help. unable to locate component

Post by doghusky1990 » Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:20 pm

no, i have sound... not sure of how to fix that one sorry...

Post Reply