Search server not responding to WAN clients

Can't get the client or server set up? Ask here!
We're on Discord! https://discord.gg/4dgAzfC
Post Reply
rezza
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 10:24 am

Search server not responding to WAN clients

Post by rezza » Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:06 pm

Folks-

I'm sure this is just a configuration thing, and not a true bug, so I'd like to grab some feedback here in the TS section instead of filing something,
For us, our search server just does not respond to anyone connected in from the outside world. It works for me on machines on my LAN, but if a remote player logs in, they can't do any /search stuff, nor can they see things on the AH. I have the Search server configured with the right DB connection info, as I can verify it working from the LAN. But no one else can do anything.

Are there any tweaks or other configuration files anywhere that I'd need to modify to make the server aware of other clients from the outside world needing to connect to it? This is bizarre.

User avatar
kjLotus
Lead Developer
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: Search server not responding to WAN clients

Post by kjLotus » Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:33 pm

are you using stock DSP or any .patches?

rezza
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 10:24 am

Re: Search server not responding to WAN clients

Post by rezza » Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:01 pm

Stock DSP only, bare minimum in edits to get it running.

User avatar
kjLotus
Lead Developer
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: Search server not responding to WAN clients

Post by kjLotus » Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:09 pm

rezza wrote:Stock DSP only, bare minimum in edits to get it running.
can you upload a crash dump?

rezza
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 10:24 am

Re: Search server not responding to WAN clients

Post by rezza » Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:11 pm

There's no crash, it just...doesn't work.

I have an update literally in this minute from my guys- apparently they are saying if they use the actual IP in their Ashita configs, they can see and use the AH/Search functions. If they use my hostname, they cannot. Something odd, but not world ending. Just more work for them to keep track of my IP when it changes.

Apologies!

User avatar
kjLotus
Lead Developer
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: Search server not responding to WAN clients

Post by kjLotus » Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:13 pm

rezza wrote:There's no crash, it just...doesn't work.

I have an update literally in this minute from my guys- apparently they are saying if they use the actual IP in their Ashita configs, they can see and use the AH/Search functions. If they use my hostname, they cannot. Something odd, but not world ending. Just more work for them to keep track of my IP when it changes.

Apologies!
oh, sorry, i meant a crash dump of one of your other crashes (like the SMN kill one)
guess i should have asked in the other thread >_>

User avatar
whasf
Site Admin
Posts: 1294
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: Search server not responding to WAN clients

Post by whasf » Tue Jun 04, 2013 5:57 pm

Sounds like you don't have the search ports forwarded on your firewall/router
-- Whasf

bluekirby0
Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:11 am

Re: Search server not responding to WAN clients

Post by bluekirby0 » Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:24 am

Actually this sounds like you are using one of the older modified boot clients I made.

Post Reply