Genuinely don't know how to stock the AH

Can't get the client or server set up? Ask here!
We're on Discord! https://discord.gg/4dgAzfC
Danny 1993
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 4:18 am

Genuinely don't know how to stock the AH

Post by Danny 1993 » Sun May 28, 2017 4:44 am

Hello everyone,

Spent a couple of days making my own server and finished it last night, made all the changes to the settings I wanted and it's working great so far - entirely down to the exceptionally helpful people on this forum and the project in general so thank you all for that to begin with.

However, the one issue I'm having is that I've tried various methods of stocking the auction house that are found in this forum (the Python method, then realised that was out of date so tried the Conda method, worked fine up to the beautiful soup part) before lastly trying the tool that was written (version 1.5). I'm only making a post as a last resort as unfortunately I've never tried anything remotely like all this before a couple of days ago so it's my own lack of knowledge and general know-how on what to do that's failing me.

My server is literally just for myself and two friends, I'm not interested in adding new NPCs etc. It's just the bare essentials, so all I'd like is to stock the auction house (say 10 of every item) and just in case I need to add more of something, I'd have that option too.

If I could please get some advice then that would be brilliant, but please talk to me like you would a child as admittedly I'm already out of my depth here haha :) thank you!

User avatar
whasf
Site Admin
Posts: 1294
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: Genuinely don't know how to stock the AH

Post by whasf » Sun May 28, 2017 9:03 am

You just need to loop through everything in item_basic, item_weapon, and item_armor and add them to the auction_house table. Do the scripts not work anymore?
-- Whasf

Danny 1993
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 4:18 am

Re: Genuinely don't know how to stock the AH

Post by Danny 1993 » Sun May 28, 2017 10:47 am

Again you'll have to excuse my ignorance but does that just mean copying everything from those three tables and pasting them into the auction house table? And if so how do I add a specified quantity? I'd never heard of Navicat before Thursday so I'm completely illiterate in terms of its capabilities I'm afraid.

Thank you for replying :)

User avatar
TeoTwawki
Developer
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 9:50 pm

Re: Genuinely don't know how to stock the AH

Post by TeoTwawki » Sun May 28, 2017 12:28 pm

You can
or
  • 2. use one of the many AH utility programs linked to on the forums.
Here's the github project for my favorite one: https://github.com/AdamGagorik/pydarkstar

Here are some alternatives:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=1116
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=19
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=15
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=20
Hi, I run The Demiurge server.

Code: Select all

PLS USE [code]CODE TAGS[/code] WHEN POSTING CODE
Image
Always code as if the guy who ends up maintaining your code will be a violent psychopath who knows where you live. - Martin Golding
DO NOT PRIVATE MESSAGE ME ABOUT BUGS

Danny 1993
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 4:18 am

Re: Genuinely don't know how to stock the AH

Post by Danny 1993 » Sun May 28, 2017 1:07 pm

I've already tried those methods and hit a stumbling block along the way, the GitHub you linked I had trouble with the "beautiful soup" section and the one that requires running a log kept on giving me a Not Responding message. What I meant was is there a step by step guide so to speak in layman's terms that I could follow, that doesn't require having specialised knowledge in relation to the programmes you'd have to use

User avatar
whasf
Site Admin
Posts: 1294
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: Genuinely don't know how to stock the AH

Post by whasf » Sun May 28, 2017 8:27 pm

Danny 1993 wrote:I've already tried those methods and hit a stumbling block along the way, the GitHub you linked I had trouble with the "beautiful soup" section and the one that requires running a log kept on giving me a Not Responding message. What I meant was is there a step by step guide so to speak in layman's terms that I could follow, that doesn't require having specialised knowledge in relation to the programmes you'd have to use
No there isn't a guide like that, you have to have some knowledge of SQL (or python apparently)
-- Whasf

Danny 1993
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 4:18 am

Re: Genuinely don't know how to stock the AH

Post by Danny 1993 » Mon May 29, 2017 4:42 am

I'm getting the same message when trying to install beautiful-soup via Anaconda command prompt:

(D:\Downloads\Anaconda) C:\Users\danie>conda install beautiful-soup
Fetching package metadata ...........
Solving package specifications: .

UnsatisfiableError: The following specifications were found to be in conflict:
- beautiful-soup -> python 2.6*
- python 3.6*
Use "conda info <package>" to see the dependencies for each package.

Any idea what to do?

User avatar
whasf
Site Admin
Posts: 1294
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: Genuinely don't know how to stock the AH

Post by whasf » Mon May 29, 2017 12:42 pm

Danny 1993 wrote:I'm getting the same message when trying to install beautiful-soup via Anaconda command prompt:

(D:\Downloads\Anaconda) C:\Users\danie>conda install beautiful-soup
Fetching package metadata ...........
Solving package specifications: .

UnsatisfiableError: The following specifications were found to be in conflict:
- beautiful-soup -> python 2.6*
- python 3.6*
Use "conda info <package>" to see the dependencies for each package.

Any idea what to do?
Looks like it is looking for a specific version of Python
-- Whasf

User avatar
TeoTwawki
Developer
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 9:50 pm

Re: Genuinely don't know how to stock the AH

Post by TeoTwawki » Tue May 30, 2017 11:25 pm

Python is one of those fun (like a root canal type of fun!) languages that has 2 incompatible versions both still being developed for. You should contact the tools author by using his github projects issue tracker if you are having trouble with it. He usually responds in less than 48hrs unless its a holiday or something.

Its instructions had a few issues with expected versions of the required packages but I had talked to him and thought we got those ironed out (when I like things, I tend to contribute to said things in my spare time) and it sounds like you found another or else installed the wrong version of python. The current version of it requires python 3.x.x not 2.x.x
Hi, I run The Demiurge server.

Code: Select all

PLS USE [code]CODE TAGS[/code] WHEN POSTING CODE
Image
Always code as if the guy who ends up maintaining your code will be a violent psychopath who knows where you live. - Martin Golding
DO NOT PRIVATE MESSAGE ME ABOUT BUGS

Danny 1993
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 4:18 am

Re: Genuinely don't know how to stock the AH

Post by Danny 1993 » Wed May 31, 2017 4:56 am

Ahaha :) yeah I believe I found another problem then as I installed 3.6 - however luckily I managed to get another method working (the tool that stocks everything in groups of 10) after a guy on Reddit helped me out so this topic can be closed now.

Thank you for taking the time to reply it's much appreciated :)

Post Reply