Introducing Pauses Between System Messages

Post Reply
Avatarati
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:51 pm

Introducing Pauses Between System Messages

Post by Avatarati » Mon Nov 09, 2015 8:39 am

I have several PrintToPlayer messages coded for custom NPC's. A lot of text dialogue will fill up the the player's chat screen instantaneously.

Is there a way to space this out to where I could introduce pauses in between strings of PrintToPlayer lines? Or better yet, is there a way to require input from the player before proceeding to the next line? (such as during retail cs's when you have to press enter to progress through the dialogue)

Also, while I'm on the subject, is there any other way to present custom text to a player other than system messages (PrintToPlayer)? Every line produces the ***System Message*** headers which clutters the screen and distracts the reader.

I'm curious as to whether I can inject events or packets to achieve or mimic the desired effects...?

bluesolarflare
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 4:23 pm

Re: Introducing Pauses Between System Messages

Post by bluesolarflare » Mon Nov 09, 2015 10:19 am

Not sure about pauses, but check the following thread for custom messages:

viewtopic.php?f=19&t=2402&hilit=Custom+messages

This allows you to do numerous things such as making white text messages that looks like npc dialog. There is a limit though of how much you can say before the client crashes so just be aware of that limitation. In my experience I keep dialog shorter than 90 characters.

Avatarati
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:51 pm

Re: Introducing Pauses Between System Messages

Post by Avatarati » Mon Nov 09, 2015 11:21 am

Ah yes, I was looking at that a little while ago. I'll play around with it later and see what I can do. Thanks for the response!

Avatarati
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:51 pm

Re: Introducing Pauses Between System Messages

Post by Avatarati » Tue Nov 10, 2015 9:59 am

Got the dialogue text looking a lot better with Tagban's guide...

But what about pauses between PrintToPlayer strings? Anyone have a solution or workaround? I'm trying to get custom NPC dialogue to appear more like retail events, where progression in the dialogue requires an input from the player (enter key).

Post Reply